7th May – The Number One Album in Australia – 2007 (Missy Higgins – On A Clear Night)

Missy-Higgins-On-A-Clear-Night-397743

Australian singer-songwriter, musician and actress Melissa “Missy” Morrison Higgins had the number one album in Australia in 2007.

On a Clear Night was the follow up to her 2004 breakthrough debut album The Sound of White.

Missy Higgins lived in Broome Western Australia for a number of months enjoying the solitude and anonymity she needed to focus on writing new material where she composed songs inspired by the landscape.

As she outlined to Cameron Adams in an interview in the Herald Sun:

“I wanted to get back to that innocent love that I once had of music, before it became my career, before I knew anyone was going to hear my songs.

“I had this feeling that I really had to get away to the desert, spend some time with space.”

“It was a place I felt invisible. It came when I felt I was at the height of being recognised and could never hide in the shadows. That’s what I love to do the most.

“I’ve always been a person who’s liked to be the watcher, not the watchee. I think that’s where a lot of the inspiration for my songs comes from as well.”

More songs were written whilst touring the States and South Africa.

Missy Higgins based herself in Los Angeles to record with producer Mitchell Froom – whose credits include Crowded House, Elvis Costello, Randy Newman and many others.

The first single from the album Steer went to Number 1 on the singles chart – it was inspired by a realisation she had one night on the beach looking up at an amazingly clear sky and it dawned on her how small we are, how short life is and therefore how ridiculous it is to spend any of it compromised or unfulfilled and she felt so liberated to have finally figured that out.

The second single Where I Stood released on 4 August 2007 hit Number 10 on the singles chart and has been featured on several television shows including Grey’s Anatomy, Friday Night Lights, NCIS, Weeds and Ghost Whisperer.

The third single released from On A Clear Night was Peachy which features a guest appearance by Neil Finn on electric guitar – it was released on 10 November 2007 as a digital download only.

Missy Higgins won Best Female Artist for On a Clear Night at the 2007 ARIA Awards.

Leave a Reply

