9th May – The Number One Album in the UK – 2007 (Arctic Monkeys – Favourite Worst Nightmare)


Arctic Monkeys hailing from Sheffield, England had the Number One album in the UK on the 9th May 2007 with their second longplayer Favourite Worst Nightmare.

This was the follow up to their stunning debut album from a year earlier Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not which had taken its name from Alan Sillitoe’s novel Saturday Night and Sunday Morning, about an angry young working class rebel in 1950s Nottingham.

At the time Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not became the fastest-selling debut album by a group in British music history; the fastest debut album is claimed by the Susan Boyle album I Dreamed A Dream sold over 410,000 copies.

The majority of Favourite Worst Nightmare was recorded at The Garden Studio at Miloco Studios, London, which once hosted the likes of The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen & Depeche Mode.

Additional recording was done in London at Eastcote Studios and Konk Studios, and the Motor Museum in Liverpool.

Arctic Monkeys worked with producers Mike Crossey and James Ford – Ford has worked with artists such as Klaxons and Florence & The Machine and is a member of Simian Mobile Disco.

As one would expect, anticipation for the album was high.

“It’s the most anticipated album since The Stone Roses’ ‘Second Coming’. And it’s huge.

‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’ is a bold, beefed-up and brilliant return… far from crumbling under the pressure, the Arctic Monkeys have turned Growing Up In Public to their advantage. We’ve followed them seamlessly through their growing pains on Sheffield dancefloors, their anti-scene teen rants, their broken teeth and stolen sweethearts; now, if ‘Whatever People Say I Am…’ was the sound of a bunch of bolshy boys kicking against the Yorkshire club scene pricks, ‘…Nightmare’ is four young men-of-the-world casting aside their juvenile naiveté and emerging stronger, savvier and, well, more salacious” – 9/10 NME

Track Listing:

All lyrics written by Alex Turner except where noted all music composed by Arctic Monkeys.


Teddy Picker

D Is for Dangerous


Fluroescent Adolescent (Turner, Johanna Bennett)

Only Ones Who Know

Do Me A Favour

This House Is A Circus

If You Were There, Beware

The Bad Thing (Turner, Jamie Cook)

Old Yellow Bricks (Turner, Jon McClure)



Arctic Monkeys

Alex Turner – lead vocals, lead & rhythm guitar, organ – “505”

Jamie Cook – lead & rhythm guitar

Nick O’Malley – bass guitar, backing vocals

Matt Helders – drums, vocals

Additional musicians

James Ford – additional guitar on “Only Ones Who Know”

Miles Kane – additional guitar on “505”


Arctic Monkeys won ‘Best British Album’ at the 2008 BRIT Awards.

Other album releases from Arctic Monkeys include a live album At the Apollo (2008) and studio albums Humbug (2009), Suck It and See (2011).