26th May – The Number One Album In The UK – 1993 (R.E.M. – Automatic For The People)


The Number One Album In The UK on the 26th May 1993 was from R.E.M. and their longplayer Automatic For The People.

Originally forming in 1980 in Athens, Georgia, R.E.M. – comprising of drummer Bill Berry, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills, and singer Michael Stipe – have always walked their own path throughout their  illustrious career which came to an end in 2011.

Throughout those 31 years R.E.M. created a body of work that became an integral touchpoint to the soundtrack to many people’s lives.

At times atmospheric and melancholic and at others energetic and passionate, the common thread throughout it all with R.E.M. what always seemed to shine through was the genuine camaraderie of the band’s members.

The band’s legacy includes a number of stunning studio albums.

Murmur (1983)

Reckoning (1984)

Fables of the Reconstructions (1985)

Lifes Rich Pageant (1986)

Document (1987)

Green (1988)

Out of Time (1991)

Automatic for the People (1992)

Monster (1994)

New Adventures in Hi-Fi (1996)

Up (1998)

Reveal (2001)

Around the Sun (2004)

Accelerate (2008)

Collapse into Now (2011)

Automatic for the People – the band’s eighth album in 12 years – saw six singles released from it.

Drive – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-ar

Man on the Moon – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-ao

The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-aj

Everybody Hurts – http://wp.me/s3uHDF-633

Nightswimming – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-a6

Find The River – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-a3


Drive – 4’31”

Try Not To Breathe – 3’50”

The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite – 4’09”

Everybody Hurts – 5’20”

New Orleans Instrumental No. 1 – 2’15”

Sweetness Follows – 4’21”

Monty Got A Raw Deal – 3’17”

Ignoreland – 4’27”

Star Me Kitten – 3’16”

Man On The Moon – 5’14”

Nightswimming – 4’18”

Find The River – 3’49″

All songs written and composed by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe.

Produced by Scott Litt and R.E.M.



Bill Berry – drums, percussion, keyboards, bass guitar, backing vocals, melodica

Peter Buck – electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, bass guitar

Mike Mills – bass guitar, piano, keyboards, backing vocals

Michael Stipe – vocals

Additional musicians:

Scott Litt – harmonica, clavinet

Strings and oboe on “Drive”, “The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonight”, “Everybody Hurts”, and “Nightswimming”

John Paul Jones – orchestral arrangements

George Hanson – conductor

Denise Berginson-Smith, Lommie Ditzen, Patti Gouvas, Sandy Salzinger, Sou-Chun Su, Judy Taylor – violin

Knox Chandler, Kathleen Kee, Daniel Laufee, Elizabeth Murphy – cello

Reid Harris, Paul Murphy, Heidi Nitchie – viola

Deborah Workman – oboe


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s