28th May – The Number One Album In The UK – 2004 (Keane – Hopes and Fears)


The debut album by English alternative rock band Keane – Hopes and Fears – was the No. 1 Album in the UK on the 28th May 2004.

Winning the Brit Award for Best Album in February 2005 – where Keane were nominated alongside Franz Ferdinand for the Franz Ferdinand album, Muse for the Absolution album, Snow Patrol for the Final Straw album and The Streets for A Grand Don’t Come For Free album.

Keane also won the Best British Breakthrough Act at the Brit Awards – where they had been nominated alongside Joss Stone, The Zutons, Natasha Bedingfield and Franz Ferdinand.

“As a collection of songs, this is hugely impressive.

As a debut album, its confidence is right up there with Definitely Maybe” – 4 stars – Q, May 2004

The album connected in a major way with a UK audience – topping the charts for 4 separate periods 22 May 2004 – 4 June 2004, 12 June 2004 – 18 June 2004, 26 June 2004 – 2 July 2004 & 20 February 2005.

Hopes and Fears connected with people around the world – reaching the Top Ten on the Belgian, Dutch, French, Irish, Mexican, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish & Swedish Charts – and going on to sell more than 5 million copies.

There were five singles released from the album:

Somewhere Only We Know – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-bi

Everybody’s Changing – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-be

Bedshaped – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-bb

This Is The Last Time – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-b7

Bend and Break – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-b2


1. Somewhere Only We Know

2. Bend And Break

3. We Might As Well Be Strangers

4. Everybody’s Changing

5. Your Eyes Open

6. She Has No Time

7. Can’t Stop Now

8. Sunshine

9. This Is The Last Time

10. On A Day Like Today

11. Untitled 1

12. Bedshaped


Tom Chaplin – Vocals

Richard Hughes – Drums

Tim Rice-Oxley – Piano, Keyboards, Bass

Producer – Andy Green, James Sanger (tracks: 6, 8, 9, 12), Keane

Programmed By – James Sanger (tracks: 6, 8, 9, 12), Keane (tracks: 6, 8, 9, 12)

Engineer, Programmed By [Pro Tools] – Andy Green

Mixed By – Mark “Spike” Stent*

Mixed By [2nd Assistant] – Rob Haggett

Mixed By [Assistant] – David Treahearn

Management – Adam Tudhope

A&R – Ferdy Unger-Hamilton

Photography By – Alex Lake

Design – Alex Lake, Madefire

Mastered by Ted Jensen

All songs published by BMG Music Publishing Ltd.
Except 6, 8, 9 and 12 published by BMG Music Publishing Ltd. and Chrysalis Music Ltd.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s