30th May – The Number One Album in UK & Australia – 1991 (Eurythmics – Greatest Hits)


The Number One album in the UK & Australia on the 30th May was from the Eurythmics, a British music duo consisting of David A. Stewart and Annie Lennox, with their Greatest Hits release.

Eurythmics have had two active components of their career – originally forming in 1980 then disbanding in 1990; reuniting again in 1999 and splitting in 2005.

Their work rate of Lennox and Stewart over an extended number of years was incredible, which saw the release around an album every 12 months.

The 1991 retrospective compilation album – Greatest Hits – was an impressive body of work containing their successful singles encompassing the period between 1982 and 1990 [track listing below].

The album was an enormous success.

Greatest Hits became the Eurythmics best-selling album worldwide topping the charts in the UK for a total of 10 weeks and in Australia for 7 weeks.

An overview of their studio albums from their debut until the Greatest Hits release:

In the Garden – their debut album in 1981 – co-produced with Krautrock producer Conny Plank (who worked with Hunters & Collectors – The Fireman’s Curse) with numerous guest musicians such as Clem Burke from Blondie.

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) – their second album released January 1983 was the Eurythmics commercial breakthrough with the title track hitting Number 1 in the States and was a hit around the world. It also included tracks such as Love Is a Stranger and a cover of the Sam & Dave hit Wrap It Up (1968) which was performed as a duet between Green Gartside of Scritti Politti and Annie Lennox.

Touch – released in November 1983 – their third album became Eurythmics first no.1 album in the UK and included three major hit singles – the calypso-flavoured upbeat Right by Your Side, the ballad Here Comes The Rain Again with orchestrations by Michael Kamen (who has worked with artists such as Pink Floyd, Queen, Coldplay and Kate Bush) and Who’s That Girl?

Be Yourself Tonight – the fourth studio album released in May 1985 included a number of marquee artists such as Elvis Costello, Aretha Franklin and Stevie Wonder making guest appearances. A number of hit singles were released including Would I Lie to You?, There Must Be an Angel (Playing with My Heart), Sisters Are Doin’ It for Themselves & It’s Alright (Baby’s Coming Back).

Revenge – the fifth studio album released in July 1986. The new wave / pop rock release included the singles When Tomorrow Comes, Thorn in My Side, The Miracle of Love & Missionary Man.

Savage – the sixth studio album by Eurythmics was released in November 1987. The record included the singles Beethoven (I Love to Listen To), Shame, I Need a Man & You Have Placed a Chill in My Heart.

We Too Are One – the seventh studio album was released in September 1989 and was Eurythmics last studio release until Peace (1999). The singles include Revival, Don’t Ask Me Why, The King and Queen of America, Angel & (My My) Baby’s Gonna Cry.

Love Is a Stranger – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-c1

Would I Lie To You? – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-c8

Sexcrime (Nineteen Eighty-Four) – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-c5

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-cc

Here Comes the Rain Again – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-cf

Who’s That Girl? – http://wp.me/p3uHDF-bX


No. Title Length
1. Love Is a Stranger 3:40
2. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) 4:50
3. Who’s That Girl? 3:44
4. Right by Your Side 3:49
5. Here Comes the Rain Again 4:54
6. There Must Be an Angel (Playing with My Heart) 4:41
7. Sisters Are Doin’ It for Themselves (with Aretha Franklin) 4:53
8. It’s Alright (Baby’s Coming Back) 3:43
9. When Tomorrow Comes 4:15
10. You Have Placed a Chill in My Heart 3:46
11. The Miracle of Love 4:35
12. Sexcrime (Nineteen Eighty-Four) 3:52
13. Thorn in My Side 4:11
14. Don’t Ask Me Why 4:13
15. Angel 4:47
16. Would I Lie to You? 4:22
17. Missionary Man 3:45
18. I Need a Man 4:21

All songs written and composed by Annie Lennox and David A. Stewart, except “When Tomorrow Comes” co-written by Patrick Seymour.

Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) (Greatest Hits – No. 1 Album – 1991 – UK & Australia)


Eurythmics – Would I Lie To You? (Greatest Hits – No. 1 Album – 1991 – UK & Australia)


Eurythmics – Love Is A Stranger (Greatest Hits – No. 1 Album – 1991 – UK & Australia)


Eurythmics – Here Comes The Rain Again (Greatest Hits – No. 1 Album – 1991 – UK & Australia)


Eurythmics – Who’s That Girl? (Greatest Hits – No. 1 Album – 1991 – UK & Australia)